Showing 6 results

Archival description
Bernard, Sir Charles Edward (1837-1901) Knight, civil servant
Print preview View:

Letter from Henry Sidgwick to F.W.H. Myers

Asks whether the 'I. of the S.' is proved or not. Wishes Myers to dine with him 'on Thursday at 7.15', and reports that his Anglo-Indian friends, the [Charles?] Bernards will be there, and he wishes them to hear Myers' 'additional evidence'.

Letter from Charles H. Tawney to Nora Sidgwick

Thanks her for her letter of 12 September. Regrets to say that he has been in the habit of destroying letters; however, he has usually kept one from each friend, and adds that he has one written by J.J. Cowell. Sends one to Nora [not included]. Undertakes to send more if and when he comes across them, but explains that in cleaning out his rooms in Calcutta he used to destroy letters. States that he walked about too much in the hot weather in the Isle of Wight, and has not fully recovered. Regrets that he did not pay a third visit 'to that place near the Langham. States that he may be able to recall facts about Henry's early life, and adds that [C.E.?] Bernard was also with him at Bishop's College. Claims that then Henry was 'as good in mathematics as in classics.' His wife sends her love, and hopes that some day Nora will be able to go and see them. Declares that Annie Latham has often talked to him of Fontainebleau. Adds that he still possesses the Hippolytus [by Euripides] that Henry and he read together 'at that house in Redland', and recalls that they 'all used to play in a sort of alley with trees behind it, Bernard, Lawrence, W. Sidgwick and Arthur S.'

Tawney, Charles Henry (1837-1922) Sanskrit scholar

Letter from Henry Sidgwick to his mother

Announces that he intends to come to see her on Tuesday, and that he will be staying with C[harles] Bernard at Hampstead. Refers to the possibility of his mother going abroad, and hopes that she will avail of the opportunity. Thanks her for her offer of hospitality to Bernard and undertakes to bring her his answer. Declares that Mary has not written, but he 'take[s] the will for the deeds.' States that the present age 'is too busy a one for epistolary communion...' Declares that this is his last examination.

Letter from Mary Sidgwick to Henry Sidgwick

Expresses her happiness at receiving his last letter. Reports that she received a letter from Mr Dale, and that there was no mention of Henry in i; is glad that he is well, and is enjoying his German life, in spite of his hay fever. Claims to like the neighbourhood very much, and to enjoy the physical exertions in which she takes part. Reports that the previous day she, Elizabeth, Arthur and William 'went the Wat[ ] expedition; she and Arthur on ponies, while the others walked. Refers to the scenery and to the weather. States that they have had heavy rain for some hours, which obliged them to stay in doors. Reports that Arthur 'looks weak and unequal to much', and believes that he has given up the idea of walking in Switzerland. Expects to be at Shipton by the end of the month, and thinks that Arthur might also go to see some friends in that direction, while William prepares for his Swiss trip. Does not think that she will let her house at all now.

Reports that she had a very pleasant letter from Minnie and Edward, 'dated Bâle 5th July.' They had been to Rheims, and then had travelled via Strasbourg to Bâle, and were to be at Lucerne on Sunday 10 July, at Grindelwald on Sunday 17 July and the following Sunday at Cham[ ]. They are to be at Cormayeur on 31 July, and at Bourges on 7 August, and home before 12 August.

Likes the Wrights very much; Miss Wright gives her any help she wants in the little Botany she can do. She thought that William was willing to look at plants with her, but finds that he does not seem to care at all about it now that they are there. Describes their physical activities, and reports that William and Arthur have been up Skiddaw, and refers to the Buttermere excursion, in which she participated. Claims to feel better since going there [to Cumberland], and to be pleased with C[ ] Church too, but 'not so much with Bp Villiers of Carlisle who preached for the Clergy [Aid] Soc[iety]' the previous Sunday.

Reports that Elizabeth came to them on Saturday after she had settled matters at home and taken her niece to Wellington College; she 'had the pleasure of unpacking dear Minnie' boxes which [they] had sent and of hanging up some of her smart gowns in her wardrobe!' Remarks that it seems to her 'even yet very like a dream' that Minnie has left her, and she resolves never to think of it painfully, thought she admits that it is hard at times. Discusses her thoughts on how one should conduct oneself at the end of one's life. Reports that she has just been hearing from Miss Wright 'a touching account of that [sad] 29th Sept. 1857. when that [ ] accident happened to the Bernards, in which a little boy [James Henry George Bernard] was apparently killed. In the account refers to [Charles?] Tawney, Alexander Laurence 'and his [insensible] brother]', and also to Dr Bernard and his wife. Reports that the whole family have now left and are gone to live at Harrow. States that the Wrights 'had just heard that Charles Bernard and Sir Alexander Laurence have killed a tiger near Bombay, and have received much praise for the same.

Encloses a letter for Mr Dale [not included], which she wishes Henry to give to him. Asks him to write again before he leaves Dresden, and to tell her where he is going. Thinks that they shall leave Keswick on 28 July, and then on to [ ], [ ], Furness and R[ ], and shall get to the Raikes on Saturday 30 July. Informs him that after that letters may be directed to her [at the Wrights in Cumberland].

Sidgwick, Mary (d 1879), mother of Henry Sidgwick

Letter from Henry Sidgwick to his mother

Asks his mother to forward a letter to Miss [Anne?] Brown, whose letter he has mislaid. Declares that he has fixed to come and spend September with her. Wishes to read, and thinks he shall spend August in Cambridge. Reports that he is getting on with Hebrew but very slowly. Predicts that he shall have read through I Samuel by the time he goes to Wellington College the following week. He intends to visit [C. H.?] Tawney after his exam there. Announces that he will pay his mother a morning call. Reports that the [Charles?] Bernards are living in Glamorganshire. Remarks that the Jews were a 'splendid people', but that the more he reads about them the more averse he becomes to the 'Bibliolatry of the day.' Observes that his is a disagreeable age in which to live; 'there are so many opinions held about everything and the advocates of each abuse their opponents so virulently that it quite frightens a modest man.'

Letter from Henry Sidgwick to his mother

Regrets to hear of the unfavourable circumstances under which she made her visit to London [see Mary Sidgwick's letter, ADD.MS.c/101/179]. Reports that he has made himself rather ill 'by knocking about to Oxford and London from 13th to 15th' and has been keeping very quiet in Cambridge ever since. Intends to go to London for a few days before he goes to Rugby.

Reports that he just saw the Royal Academy, referring to the work of Leighton, Millais and Brett, and declaring it on the whole to be a bad exhibition. Announces that his friend Charles Bernard and his wife are now in England, and asks his mother if she would like him to ask him 'to run down to Rugby' while Henry is there and stay for a day or so. Reports that he saw William in Oxford on 13 June, and that he seemed very well. Indicates that they may meet in Switzerland. States that he is working now, and is very well. Tells her to keep the MSS as long as she likes; does not know if they will interest her, though he finds them interesting 'as all details of one's own mental life are. One grows old in Cambridge very fast...' Comments on the fact that [Jex]-Blake has been elected principle of Cheltenham [College]. Remarks that he will prosper, and states that he does not feel quite sure that Farrar would, although he would have felt more interested in trying the experiment with Farrar.