Showing 3 results

Archival description
Leaf, Charlotte Mary (1867-1934) née Symonds, wife of Walter Leaf
Print preview View:

Letter from Henry Sidgwick to F. W. H. Myers

Thanks him for his letter. Thinks that he must come back [to England from Switzerland]. Explains that he has agreed to put his name on the Unionist Liberal Committee, and would feel that he 'had not acted up to [his] principles' if he did not turn up to vote [in the General Election]' Requests him to send a telegram 'as soon as the day is known', and gives directions in relation to the address to which it should be sent. Reports that they are having a good time, and that J A. S[ymonds] and his three younger daughters are well. States however, that 'they have hardly any hope' in relation to Janet [Symonds' eldest daughter, very ill with tuberculosis].

Letter from J. C. Symonds to Nora Sidgwick

Expresses her delight that Nora is to give her a copy of Henry Sidgwick: A Memoir; Nora will miss it now, though it must be 'a comfort that the responsibility is out of [her] hands.' Remarks also on 'how infinitely pathetic' to her must have been the work of that last dictated bit of autobiography', and states that no one ever lived in his letters as Henry did. Has kept 'that last little note' which Henry wrote to her, which came to her 'at [Mary] Ewarts'. There are 'too many people still left to whom [Henry] was a real friend as well as teacher' for the book to remain unread.

Reports that Katharine is at Davos, that the latter's boys are with her [in Lyme Regis], and that they and Katharine were all at Am Hof with her 'until the last days came.' States that she and [ ] are going to live together at Y[ickley] as soon as the Leafs leave it. Does not know if the arrangement will work out or not. She intends to return to Lyme Regis the following winter. Wishes that the house were really her own. Reports that she heard from Baron von Hügel some days previously. Fears that she has been very ill. Expresses her desire to come to see 'both of them' and Nora 'one day soon'.