Item 77 - Letter from William James to J. G. Frazer

Identity area

Reference code



Letter from William James to J. G. Frazer


  • 25 June 1901 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

1 item

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Lamb House, Rye, Sussex - Was in Cambridge to keep a promise to Mrs Myers, but did not have time to visit them; saw James Ward, was pained to find him so ill; the Edinburgh [Gifford] lectures went off well; is going to Nauheim, thence to Liverpool and home; was sorry to hear he cut his Italy trip short.

Accompanied by the envelope with the note, 'W. James on Gifford lectures &c.' in Frazer's hand.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

    Script of material

      Language and script notes

      Physical characteristics and technical requirements

      Finding aids

      Allied materials area

      Existence and location of originals

      Existence and location of copies

      Related units of description

      Related descriptions

      Notes area

      Alternative identifier(s)

      Access points

      Subject access points

      Place access points

      Genre access points

      Description identifier

      Institution identifier

      Rules and/or conventions used


      Level of detail

      Dates of creation revision deletion




          Accession area