Item 78 - Letter from Henry Sidgwick to his mother

Identity area

Reference code

ADD.MS.c/99/78

Title

Letter from Henry Sidgwick to his mother

Date(s)

  • [16] Dec 1866 (Creation)

Level of description

Item

Extent and medium

1 doc

Context area

Name of creator

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Proposes to come to visit her on 29 or 31 December, and to stay until 8 or 9 January. Asks if this suits her, and to answer him by return of post. Asks when Arthur is going. Reports that his motion [proposing the election of a Praelector for the direction of Physical Science studies and other new subjects] was lost at the College meeting. Declares that he is now reading principally philosophy, and that he has much to read. Asks her to tell him about Mary [Minnie] and Edward when she writes. Reports that there are considerable changes going on [at Trinity College], which, he claims, will affect him somewhat, but that he has 'now got so used to being unsettled' that he works 'just as well'. Asks if she wrote to Mrs Clough [see 101/172/1-2).

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling

Accruals

System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Publication note

Part transcription in Sidgwick, Arthur, and Sidgwick, E. M, 'Henry Sidgwick'. London: Macmillan, 1906, p 157.

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Status

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Language(s)

Script(s)

Sources

Accession area