Item 107 - Letter from Henry Sidgwick to his mother

Identity area

Reference code

Add.MS.c/99/107

Title

Letter from Henry Sidgwick to his mother

Date(s)

  • Jul 1869 (Creation)

Level of description

Item

Extent and medium

1 doc

Context area

Name of creator

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Informs her that if she thinks it worthwhile to take lodgings beforehand, he thinks that Ambleside 'will be as good a place as any other.' Also mentions Grasmere as a possibility for the first week, and then on to Borrowdale. Announces that he shall be ready to go 'about the 6th or 7th', and hopes that she will have seen William before this; did not think William seemed ill, but 'he is certainly somewhat nervous, languid and irresolute...' Believes, however, that he appeared to like the idea of going to the Lakes. States that he enjoyed his visit 'L.W.C.' [to Wellington College] very much; Mary seemed very well, and that the children were delightful. Reports that he had 'some intimate talk with Edward on religious subjects, which was thoroughly pleasant and satisfactory' to him.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling

Accruals

System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Publication note

Part transcription in Sidgwick, Arthur, and Sidgwick, E. M, 'Henry Sidgwick'. London: Macmillan, 1906, p 202.

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Status

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Language(s)

Script(s)

Sources

Accession area