Item 122 - Letter from Henry Sidgwick to his mother

Identity area

Reference code

Add. MS c/99/122

Title

Letter from Henry Sidgwick to his mother

Date(s)

  • [Summer?] 1867 (Creation)

Level of description

Item

Extent and medium

1 doc

Context area

Name of creator

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Writes to say that he cannot come the following day due to his hayfever. States that he will probably 'leave town' for about a week - the second week in July - for the seaside, if he manages to shake it off entirely. Undertakes to write again when he knows where he shall be when she passes [London], so that she may write and tell him the exact time she will be there. States that he has decided not to go to Tawney, because of his hayfever. Reports that he has been spending most of his time seeing friends, and that there are more to see. Asks her to tell Arthur that a cousin of E.E. Bowen's - Reverend C. Bowen - will probably [be calling on him].

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling

Accruals

System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Status

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Language(s)

Script(s)

Sources

Accession area