Item 147 - Letter from Caroline Trevelyan to Elizabeth des Amorie van der Hoeven

Identity area

Reference code

TRER/9/147

Title

Letter from Caroline Trevelyan to Elizabeth des Amorie van der Hoeven

Date(s)

  • 1 Dec 1899 (Creation)

Level of description

Item

Extent and medium

1 item

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Wallington, Cambo, Northumberland. - Asks whether she should call Elizabeth 'Bessie'. Robert seems very happy; 'delightful' to think of them together. Looks forward to seeing her early in the spring. Does not know Robert's address in Italy, so will have to send Bessie them to forward; asks if she can keep her informed of his whereabouts 'as he is always forgetful about such things'. Glad he now has someone to look after him; used to make her unhappy to think of 'the wretched sort of way in which he lived at his last lodgings'. Going to Cambridge tomorrow to see Robert's old tutor [Arthur] Verrall and George [Macauley Trevelyan]; will go to Welcombe about the 3 or 4 January, and would very much like Bessie to come and stay with them there. Will send some photographs of Sir George and herself.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling

Accruals

System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Note

Pencil annotation dating the letter to 1899.

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Status

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Language(s)

Script(s)

Sources

Accession area