Item 182 - Letter from R. C. Trevelyan to Caroline Trevelyan

Identity area

Reference code

TRER/45/182

Title

Letter from R. C. Trevelyan to Caroline Trevelyan

Date(s)

  • [Mar? 1889] (Creation)

Level of description

Item

Extent and medium

1 doc

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Is very glad that his mother can come next Tuesday, when he will have 'nothing to do'. The examinations start tomorrow; at first they are not too hard, with only natural science tomorrow. Is not doing much now, as 'it is no good working too hard just before'. Would very much like to see Macbeth [the Irving/Terry production at the Lyceum?], especially if they can 'all go together'.

Will be 'very glad to get home' as sports are 'not very interesting unless you yourself take part in them. Does not think Charlie means to do much sport, but he is 'practicing up in gymnastics, for his house will be champion house'. Is pleased they [the Liberals] won the Kennington [by-]election, and hopes they will also win the next two [Gorton and Enfield?]; they 'seem to be going uphill'.

It is good that Bathgate found the books [at Wallington?] as Robert will want them, 'especially next holidays'. Sends love to his father.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling

Accruals

System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Note

With pencil note dating the letter to 1889.

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Status

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Language(s)

Script(s)

Sources

Accession area