Item 100 - Letter from R. C. Trevelyan to Sir George Trevelyan

Identity area

Reference code

TRER/46/100

Title

Letter from R. C. Trevelyan to Sir George Trevelyan

Date(s)

  • 25 Sept 1904 (Creation)

Level of description

Item

Extent and medium

1 doc

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Mill House, Westcott, Dorking. - Thanks his father for his letter [12/77] and for sending the second five hundred pounds: his and Caroline's 'kindness will have been of great importance', as without it he and Elizabeth would 'not at all have been able to build the house as [they] wanted'. The weather remains good, which is favourable 'as the roof ought to be begun in a week or two'.

They are going to spend tonight with Mr [Ernest Penrose] Arnold, who has lately retired to Godalming; has not seen him 'for years' except very briefly this year, and will be glad to see him and his wife again. Bessie is 'playing the viol d'amore in two pieces at a Dolmetsch concert here next Wednesday'. She is not going abroad at the end of the week: she did not think it worthwhile, since 'the Grandmonts are leaving Holland on the first of October'. They are disappointed that Bessie's friend Miss Halbertsma cannot come abroad with them this winter; maybe it will be possible another time, as she would have liked to if she had been able.

Has just received his mother's letter; sends thanks. Is glad 'little Cacciola [presumably a relative of Salvatore Cacciola, husband of Florence Trevelyan; perhaps Cesare Acrosso?] enjoyed his visit at Wallington'; they 'like him better than his uncle, though no doubt he is not such a character'. The eruption of Vesuvius seems 'very bad': if the cone falls in, as is feared, there 'may be some great catastrophe, as it will block up the crater, and have to be blown out again somehow or other, and nobody knows what might happen then'.

Hears his parents had a 'large dinner party' recently; is 'sorry to have missed [Herbert] Craig', whom he used to know 'quite well'; hopes he will win his seat, which he thinks is Sir George's old one, as he 'ought to be a very good Member of Parliament'. Supposes George's book [England under the Stuarts] will be out soon; looks forward to reading the 'last half'. Sends love to his mother, and will write to her soon.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling

Accruals

System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Status

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Language(s)

Script(s)

Sources

Accession area