Item 100 - Letter from R. C. Trevelyan to Flora Russell

Identity area

Reference code



Letter from R. C. Trevelyan to Flora Russell


  • 1 Sept 1943 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

1 item

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Flora's postcard came when he was away for two months in the north, but he still should have replied sooner. Does indeed remember the 'expedition from Burrows Lea with the Russells to Leith Hill Tower'; he must have been about six, and chiefly remembers eating 'as many bilberries as [he] could' and being 'shamefully sick'. Would like to visit her soon, but they have guests at the moment; would much like to see Flora's French [lead] soldiers. She may have heard that Julian and Ursula have had a son, Philip, and all seems to be going well; Erasmus, his middle name, is a Darwin family name.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area